Life’s Turned Upside Down (The Show Me Series #3) by Anne Stone












Gabriella Alvarez is the youngest of the Alvarez family.  She’s watched her best friend marry her brother and another brother find love.  Deep down, she’s looking for love, but she can’t quite shake the college sweetheart that broke her heart.

Dr. Ashton Holder works for the famous Alvarez practice.  He and Gabriella have always clashed—she continues to see him only has the rough-edged doctor with no bedside manner, but he’s really made strides to put this image behind him.

When Gabriella discovers a secret from Ashton’s past, though, she does her best to help him uncover something that will change his life forever, but a misunderstanding between them rocks him to the core.  When he finally uncovers the secret, he must learn to put his past aside and try and move on with a future willed with hope and dreams.

Life’s Turned Upside Down is the third book in Anne Stone’s Show Me series.

Goodreads Link:


Buy Links:


Amazon AU:

Amazon CA:

Amazon UK:

Barnes & Noble:






Life’s Turned Upside Down by Anne Stone

While Life’s Turned Upside Down can be read as a standalone, as I read it, I would recommend reading the previous books in the series to fully understand the beginning of the book, and get a full, well rounded look at Gabriella and Ashton.

If you have not read the previous books, the first few chapters can be a bit confusing. There is a lot of animosity between our hero and heroine. Gabriella just cannot forgive Ashton for a previous error that effected her nephew and brother greatly. Once they are continuously forced together, due to the help of outsiders, they begin to see each other in a new light and that is where the story really takes off.

Gabriella and Ashton are both stuck in their ways. Neither wants to change. I had issues connecting with both characters at first because of their antics. They were being very immature. Once you get past that and get into the meat of the story, you discover why each of them are acting the way they are. The two begin to grow. Their relationship begins to blossom. Its a fun, sweet, enemies to lovers. The two learn to love again after having their feelings beaten bloody by loved ones earlier in their lives.

I really enjoyed this book. I do wish I had read the previous books first to fully understand and appreciate the story, characters, and their little quirks. This was a fairly quickly paced read, and keeps your attention until the end. Recommended to the reader looking for some zingers before love.

*Review Copy requested and reviewed on behalf of OMGReads*
View all my reviews



The Show Me Series:

Life’s Second Chances: The Show Me Series #1


Angelina Samuels has lost the only job she’s ever held. A last minute interview lands her a new teaching job just days before the school year is about to begin. It turns out to be the best thing that could have happened when she realizes that her best friend from college, Gabriella Alvarez, is also a member of the teaching staff.


Gabriella’s brother, Alejandro, relocates to his hometown after having lived away from family and friends since he left for college to become a renowned transplant surgeon. He’s settling into a new job, reacquainting himself with family and friends, and is learning to deal ever-so-slowly with the personal loss that forever changed his life.


When Angelina’s sister experiences a health crisis, Alejandro is there to support her and her family. And when Angelina herself experiences a personal tragedy, Alejandro is the only one to guide her through it. As love stares down at them, can Angelina help Alejandro take that second chance on love and marriage?

Buy Links:

Amazon US:

Amazon UK:

Barnes and Noble:




Life’s Gateway to Happiness: The Show Me Series #2


Kelly Samuels is dedicated to her career and has received several promotions in her short tenure at Lattice Works. Kelly’s family is shocked when she returns home unemployed and without an explanation.


Alec Alvarez, a pediatrician from a family full of doctors, is focused solely on his career. He’s declared his bachelor status for life and has no desire for love, marriage, or babies. When Alec finds Kelly stuck on the side of a snowy road, neither of them are prepared for the feelings they begin to have for one another.


As Kelly and Alec grow closer, he wants to know why the once happy-go-lucky Kelly is hesitant to his touch, while Kelly just wants to find purpose to her life again. After Kelly tells two conflicting stories as to why she lost her job, Alec steps in to discover what truly happened. Can Kelly come to terms with what happened to her and move on with her life? And can Alec love enough to give-up his bachelorhood status for good?


Life’s Gateway to Happiness is the second book in Anne Stone’s The Show Me series.


Buy Links:


Amazon UK:



Barnes & Noble:


About The Author:

Anne Stone was born and raised in St. Louis, Missouri but now lives in the cold state of Wisconsin with her faithful Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. She writes heartfelt sweet contemporary romance and is the author of the Show Me and Williams & Company series.  She loves to tell a story and that’s what you’ll definitely get in an Anne Stone novel.

Anne’s degree is in education but she has worked in the corporate sector managing a large number of staff.  Now, she works from home where part of her day is still spent in the corporate world and the other part is dreaming of her heroes and heroines.

Connect With Anne Stone:



Street Team:











Related posts

One Thought to “Life’s Turned Upside Down (The Show Me Series #3) by Anne Stone”

  1. Anne Stone

    Thanks for sharing Life’s Turned Upside Down on your Blog. I really appreciate it!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.